Voice Recognition

New Mexico SNA Recognizes 2020 School Nutrition Award Winners

NM Student Nutrition Award winners

May 11, 2020 – New Mexico School Nutrition Association has announced state award winners, recognizing an exceptional school nutrition employee, manager and director. While the nomination process began before COVID-19 school closures, NMSNA recognizes the widespread efforts of school nutrition professionals across the state, working on the frontlines to ensure needy students have access to healthy meals during the pandemic.

“School nutrition professionals have always played such an important role in student success, providing nutritious meals to fuel their busy days and a warm, welcoming cafeteria environment,” said Rachel Martinez, NMSNA President. “But in the midst of COVID-19 school closures, these women and men have willingly taken on the role of frontline heroes. The dedication and passion of these award winners is a testament to the work being done by school nutrition professionals across our state.”

The following state award winners will be honored on the NMSNA Website and plaques of recognition will be mailed to each award winner.

  • Rita Sandoval, from Mora Independent School District has earned the Employee of the Year Award. She goes above and beyond to make the students and staff feel welcome. She takes the initiative to assists her co-workers with any and all tasks to help complete their duties. She knows students do not have that much time to eat, so she makes sure that all students are served within a timely manner. 
  • Angelica Ledezma, from Deming Public Schools has earned the Manager of the Year Award. She demonstrates tremendous patience with her students, staff, and school administrators. She is very patient when the students are going through the line to receive their trays. When her staff or administrators need assistance, she is always willing to lend a hand.
  • Ginger Jones, from Deming Public Schools has earned the Director of the Year Award. Ginger has also earned the West Region Director of the Year Award. As a director in a diverse district for over 20 years, she has increased daily participation from 5,000 to 17,000 by implementing across the board USDA programs. Breakfast after the Bell in 7 sites. After School Snack Program at all school sites, Summer Feeding Program in 20 sites within the county as well as implementing mobile food trucks, FFVP at 6 elementary sites, New Mexico Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Program at all school sites and Roadrunner Food Bank backpack and food pantries at 4 sites. Networking with district leaders has been essential to her success in increasing district participation.

About School Nutrition Association:
The School Nutrition Association (SNA) is a national, non-profit professional organization representing more than 55,000 school nutrition professionals across the country. Founded in 1946, SNA and its members are dedicated to making healthy school meals and nutrition education available to all students. For more information on school meals, visit